In which the author introduces herself…

My desk for the summer! (note: you shouldn't bring coffee into an archives...)
My desk for the summer! (note: you shouldn’t bring coffee into an archives…)

One of the tricky things about being a writer is finding your voice. As a Creative Writing major during my time at Le Moyne, one of the first things I would assess in workshops was the different voices of my fellow writers.  I took two forays into the world of playwriting, and the most challenging part was finding different voices for all the characters.

You might notice that this blog is for the College Archives, yet I am writing unabashedly in first person.  This is a conscious choice!  Part of the “archives myth” that I want to dispel is the idea that the archives are a closed, dusty closet, staffed primarily by ghosts.  Archives can be vibrant sources of learning and conversation, and they are staffed by very real (very enthusiastic) people.

Before we get too far into this blog, I wanted to take a moment to introduce myself.  My name is Lizz, and I am interning in the Archives this summer.  I graduated from Le Moyne in 2013 and am currently a grad student at SU in the Museum Studies program.

I fell in love with the idea of archives when I did an internship at the archives of an art museum in Buffalo.  I was part of a transcription project of an artist’s journals, and though I loved wandering the gallery and seeing the art, I also loved reading Burchfield’s handwriting and learning his stories. After sixty hours of deciphering cursive, I gained such a love for Burchfield, a new appreciation for his work and even a greater understanding of the city of Buffalo.

This summer, I get the joy of hanging out in Le Moyne’s library daily.  From the moment I set foot on this campus on an admissions tour in 2007, I knew this place was special.  I’m excited to spend the next few months learning about Le Moyne firsthand from the treasures left by the people who came before me, and to take you all on this journey with me.

It’s my hope that this blog can continue after I’ve moved on from this internship, and that you’ll get to learn a little about all the other voices who take over in the future!

Leave a Reply

